I’ve tried multiple times to maintain a blog of some sort. First it was a collection of all my poetry, then it was a collection of my stories and poetry, which, later, somehow morphed into a weird amalgam of my articles, stories, poetry and, of all things, my photography.

Needless to say, they all had about two weeks in the spotlight before they were forgotten, left to rot in some dusty corner of the internet. I still occasionally get notifications from some of them, but they only serve to remind me of my inability to commit to things.

On a completely unrelated note, yes, I’m single.

So, as I created more and more skeletons of blogs that were basically dead on arrival, I started noticing a pattern. Or rather, a lack of one. Everything I had created so far was utterly pointless. It was just a random collection of stuff that I had accumulated over the years. I didn’t even know why I was doing it. So I stopped trying.Which is when I really understood how a blog works.

More than once, friends have come up to me saying “You should start a blog.”. I never really got that. What does one write about? Why would people want to read the random stuff going on in my head?

That’s when it hit me. By ‘it’, I mean college life. And by ‘me’, I mean my face. 

After two years of what felt like a brick in a washing machine, I came to two conclusions.

The first one is that no one honestly gives a shit about you. It’s a difficult conclusion to come to, because it means you’re pretty much on your own when dealing with the runaway roller coaster that is college life.

The second one is that no one honestly gives a shit about you. It’s also the most liberating conclusion you can come to, because now you have the freedom to take chances, get out of your comfort zone and do what it takes to get where you want to be without having to deal with people. (Ugh!)

So why would people want to read the random stuff in my head? They wouldn’t. But I’m not writing for people. I’m writing for me because I have something to say. And if somewhere out there, one single person is listening, it means I have finally understood how to write a blog, and that finally, that carnival of thoughts going on in my head has a voice. And I’d like to think that this time, I’ve got it right.


 

2 thoughts on “Here I go. Again.

Leave a Reply

